UW-La Crosse Wins NCAA Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Championship

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field

ROCHESTER, N.Y.–University of Wisconsin-La Crosse won the NCAA Division III Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Championship following three days of competition at the Polisseni Track and Field Complex on May 27.


It is the fourth NCAA Division III crown in program history (1983, 1984, 2015) and fifth national title overall (the Eagles won the 1982 Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women championship). It is the 13th NCAA Division III championship by a WIAC program. UW-Oshkosh has nine titles to its credit.


Since the 1982-83 academic year, WIAC schools have combined to win 124 NCAA Division III team championships in all sports.


UW-La Crosse totaled 67.5 points to outdistance the 58 points by Loras College (Iowa). Washington University-St. Louis (Mo.) took third with 51 points, Massachusetts Institute of Technology fourth with 37 and University of Chicago (Ill.) fifth with 31.


Additional WIAC team finishes included: UW-Whitewater tied for 18th with 11 points; UW-Oshkosh tied for 37th with seven points; UW-Eau Claire and UW-Stout tied for 49th with five points; and UW-River Falls tied for 55th with four points. The national event was hosted by St. John Fisher University (N.Y.) and Visit Rochester.


UW-La Crosse’s Skye Digman secured an individual title in the shot put with a heave of 49-9 (15.16m). She is the fourth Eagle to win the event, joining Cindy Lensmire (1983), Donna Oedsma (1985), Jessie Coonen (1993) and Kim Dankemeyer (1995).


The following individuals from the WIAC earned All-America recognition from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association for placing in the top eight of their event:


100-Meter Dash:  Lauren Jarrett (UW-La Crosse-Second); Tina Shelton (UW-Whitewater-Fifth)


200-Meter Dash:  Lauren Jarrett (UW-La Crosse-Second); Tina Shelton (UW-Whitewater-Seventh)


800-Meter Run:  Maddie Hannan (UW-La Crosse-Second); Cyna Madigan (UW-Oshkosh-Third)


1,500-Meter Run:  Amelia Lehman (UW-Oshkosh-Eighth)


100-Meter Hurdles:  Emma Lawrence (UW-La Crosse-Seventh)


400-Meter Hurdles:  Emma Lawrence (UW-La Crosse-Third)


3,000-Meter Steeplechase:  Emma Malooly (UW-La Crosse-Sixth)


4×100-Meter Relay:  UW-La Crosse (Bella Seitz, Lauren Jarrett, Emma Lawrence, Emily Dawidowich-Third)


4×400-Meter Relay:  UW-La Crosse (Amber Johnson, Emily Dawidowich, Morgan Jennings, Emma Lawrence-Fourth)


High Jump:  Ainsley Hansen (UW-La Crosse-Eighth)


Pole Vault:  Gracie Holland (UW-Whitewater-Fourth); Araceli De Leo Lopez (UW-La Crosse-Eighth)


Triple Jump:  Miah Keller (UW-La Crosse-Seventh)


Shot Put:  Skye Digman (UW-La Crosse-Champion)


Discus:  Skye Digman (UW-La Crosse-Third)


Hammer:  Teagan Jones (UW-Eau Claire-Fourth); Skye Digman (UW-La Crosse-Seventh)


Javelin:  Raegan Sorensen (UW-Stout-Fourth)


Heptathlon:  Lexi LeFever (UW-River Falls-Fifth)


# # # # #

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *